It’s Drinko De Mayo!

I had a post all ready to go about the Battle of Puebla, the U.S.A.’s current relationship with Latin American, the Monroe Doctrine, the Bush Doctrine, and Obama’s trip to Latin American, but it turns out that’s lame. Besides not being really what I want to write about on this blog. I certainly have my opinions. Anyone that knows me well, knows about my extreme political views, so we’ll just leave it at that. I don’t need or want hate mail from people who don’t agree with me. That’s not the point of this blog. I haven’t done much knifepointing here, haven’t quite narrowed down a focus, but I know for sure that I want to write about universal experiences, like enjoying music, food, books and spirits, from the point of view of a Texan and new [again] New Orleanian. There’s no reason to be divisive when I can bring people together with the great equalizer: alcohol.

With that in mind, I have a recipe for a delicious, tasty, refreshing beverage you can share with your friends if you happen to be sitting around your porch tonight in celebration of Cinco de Mayo. It’s actually my Mom’s favorite drink and it’s called a Knock Ya Naked.

You will need:

1 can frozen Bacardi Margarita Mix
1 bottle Corona or other Mexican pale lager of your choice
1 can Sprite or 7Up
3/4 can of Tequila [use Bacardi can to measure]

Stir Margarita mix, beer and tequila in a pitcher until well blended. Add Sprite last to preserve the carbonation. Rim the glass of your choice with salt, add ice and pour! SO EASY! You can also use club soda to make it fizzy without adding the sweetness that Sprite or 7Up does.

I’m telling you this is a DELICIOUS drink on a hot summer day. What’s great about this is it’s a really communal drink. Have a Knock Ya Naked party and select people to bring different items. Since it’s a drink with pretty basic ingredients, you can switch things up a little. Crush up some strawberries and throw ’em in! Add some Sangria. Whatever you want.

So, today, I will raise my Knock Ya Naked in commemoration of the small, brave and mighty Mexican army, General Zaragoza, and the Battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment